Who Won the 2008 US PGA Championship

Padraig Harrington of Ireland has won the 2008 US PGA Championship, that's who! He is the first European to win the event in almost 80 years, since Tommy Armour's win in 1930.

Padraig now has a Wanamaker Trophy to keep his Claret Jugs company, as he edged out Spain's Sergio Garcia and Ben Curtis from the US with two final rounds of 66 to win by 2 strokes at -3 after confidently sinking a 15ft putt. He is also the first European to win the title in strokeplay competition. Padraig also won the 'as interesting as a book on darts' title, but boy can he handle pressure!

Padraig, pronounced "Podrig" only 3 weeks ago won his second consecutive British Open title. The Irishman has now won the last two majors, and three of the last six. He should be in the driver's seat for Player of the Year honors.

How the Australians finished in the field:

* Aaron Baddeley: +6 T13
* Stuart Appleby +7 T15
* Robert Allenby +11 T31
* Geoff Ogilvy +11 T31
* Steve Elikington +12 T39
* John Senden +13 T42
* Peter Lonard +20 T68
* Richard Green +23 71

As a note: Aaron Baddeley started the tournament at 100/1 odds. According to Ladbrokes, an English sports betting company, one English punter phoned in a 10,000 pound bet on Baddeley to win, which would have been a cool million pounds or 85 trillion Australian Dollars. Unfortunately for them both Baddeley didn't win however Baddeley still pocketed $137,250 US for his 13th place finish.

For more golf news from Australia and around the world, click here: